

Faculty Senate

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, March 24, 2025 Dalton Woods Auditorium Energy, Coast and Environment Building

Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) P=Present A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance
Daniel Tirone	President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Inessa Bazayev	Past President	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р
Parampreet Singh	Vice President	Science	Р
Michelle Osborn	Secretary	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	А
Kenneth Lopata	Member-at-Large	Science	А
Carmela Mattza	Member-at-Large	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р

Senators

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	А	Giulio Mariotti	Coast and Environment	Р
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	Р	Sarah Mathews	Science	Р
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	А	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Supratik Mukhopadhyay	Coast and Environment	Р
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Р	Marcia Newcomer	Science	А
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	А
Christine Bruening	Art and Design	Р	Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Summer Chandler	Law Center	Р	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	А

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Yan Chen	Agriculture	Р	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	А
Rebecca Christofferson	Veterinary Medicine	Р	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	А
Charles Delzell	Science	Р	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	Р
Ray Diamond	Law Center	А	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	Р
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	Р	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	Р	Jennifer Scott	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	Р	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	А
Charles Goodman	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Samuel Snow	Engineering	Р
Lauren Griffin	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	А
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Phillip Sprunger	Science	Р
Achim Herrmann	Science	А	Casey Stannard	Agriculture	Р
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Min Su	Business	Р
Catherine Jacquet	Humanities and Social Sciences	А	Chao Sun	Engineering	Р
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	А	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	А
Revati Kumar	Science	А	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	Р
Patty Lathan	Veterinary Medicine	Р	Bulent Unel	Business	Р
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Willem Van Boxtel	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Julia Ledet	Science	Р	Shea Vela-Vick	Science	А
Yuwei Li	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Ted Waldron	Business	А
Kenneth Lopata	Science	А	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	Р
Donald Lund	Business	Р	Jian Xu	Engineering	Р
Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Jun Zou	Art and Design	Р

Guests

Name	Position	Attendance	Name	Position	Attendance
Keena Arbuthnot	Vice President, Chief Data Officer Dean of the Graduate School	Р	Louis Gremillion	External Affairs	Р
Sheantal Baker	Director of Benefits and Retirement	Р	Roy Heidelberg		
Matthew Calamia			Craig Woolley		
Jackie Bach	Office of Academic Affairs	Р	Roy Haggerty	Provost	

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:03 pm on March 24, 2025, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at the LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Tirone announced alternates and guests. There were no public comments. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted.

In his report, President Tirone discussed (i) the well-received academic freedom event, (ii) details of the upcoming Faculty Council Meeting, (iii) the planned attendance survey that will soon be available to faculty, (iv) the work of the Faculty Senate ad hoc Generative AI Committee, (v) the need for faculty service on a Library

Committee focused on the prioritization of journal subscriptions and acquisitions, (vi) the role of the Faculty Senate in increasing professional development opportunities for faculty as part of the Student Success Initiative, (vii) highlighted the recipients of LSU Faculty Awards. A question was addressed after the report.

The first item of unfinished business was the second reading of Resolution 25-02, "Laptop/Desktop Purchases for Faculty by LSU", Sponsored by LSU Faculty Senate ad hoc IT Committee and LSU Information Technology Services. The floor was opened to discussion. Baumgartner made a motion to amend the resolution by striking "...5-year..." in the "Resolved..." and replacing it with"...4-year..." The motion caried and the resolution was amended. Discussion returned to the main resolution. After some discussion, the senate proceeded to a vote of the main motion to adopt Faculty Senate Resolution 25-02 as amended. The motion carried and the amended resolution was adopted.

The first item of new business was the Presentation on Faculty Senate Executive Committee Positions and Nominations. Past President Bazayev detailed the responsibilities of FSEC as a committee and for each individual position within FSEC. There were no questions. President Tirone then announced the confirmed nominations from the Nominating Committee and invited nominations from the floor; there were none.

Osborn made a motion to suspend the agenda and take up the presentation by the TRSL/ORP Retirement Task Force. The motion was approved.

TRSL/ORP Retirement Task Force members Keena Arbuthnot, Vice President, Chief Data Officer and Dean of the Graduate School, Joan Pender McManus Distinguished Professor of Education; Sheantel Baker, Director of Benefits and Retirement; and Parampreet Singh, Vice President, LSU Faculty Senate; summarized the membership and work of the task force from the past year, stated the recommendations they made for the 2025 legislative session, and provided updates for current legislation action based on these recommendations. Louis Gremillion, Assistant Director of Government Relations LSU, answered questions after the presentation.

The next item of new business was Resolution 25-03, "Increasing ORP Employer Contribution Rate to 8%", Sponsored by the Faculty Senate Benefits Advisory Committee. Roy Heidelberg, Chair of the Committee gave the first reading of the resolution.

Keena Arbuthnot, Vice President, Chief Data Officer and Dean of the Graduate School, Joan Pender McManus Distinguished Professor of Education; and Matthew Calamia, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, Associate Professor, Psychology gave a presentation on the Graduate School at a Glance in which the discussed new developments and leadership at the Graduate School. Questions and comments were answered after the presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:21 pm following a motion by Lathan. The motion was passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Michelle Osborn, Secretary